成功案例

The sweet spot of qualitative and quantitative: How does “If Only: Once Again" use AI to enter gamers’ hearts?

Gaining popularity in more than 15 countries, automatic AI tags over ten million posts
Gaining popularity in more than 15 countries, automatic AI tags over ten million posts

From remote games to mobile games, from Taiwan to overseas, X-Legend Entertainment possesses more than 18 years of R&D experience and technological ability, and continues to make breakthroughs in the game market. If we look at the current situation of the gaming industry, according to the mobile market data and analytics platform App Annie report, regardless of the “number of active gamers” or the “amount of player consumption,” there was an average annual growth rate of 20% in 2020, which also makes operators more optimistic about the big game market, leading to a steady rise in the cost of advertising. Such competition has prompted members of the X-Legend Entertainment game team to constantly break the mold and pursue change in game design. “If Only: Once Again” is one of their new works that was created under this challenge.

 

The game swept across markets in more than 15 countries

Potential business opportunities in the female market gave birth to the urban romance mobile game “If Only: Once Again”

Foreseeing the huge business opportunities in the female market and the likes of team members, X-Legend Entertainment launched this “female-oriented” RPG mobile game in November 2020. Going against the style of past adventure and fantasy MMORPGs, the “If Only: Once Again” production team produced gameplay that was more delicate and beautiful in the painted visual style, music, and plot.

 

New themes, new challenges: Analyze the customer base to discover the sense of excitement for female gamers

While making the first female-oriented self-developed romance mobile game, the team also faced different challenges when planning its marketing strategy. Abbie from the X-Legend Product Operation Department shared that when marketing in the past, the team used to refer to the interactive messages of social media fans or past experience from promoting games with high similarity, supplemented by the effectiveness of advertising, to make decisions.

For the team, who had less experience in promoting female-oriented romance mobile games, they had to rethink and build a “player profile.” Abbie clarifies with an example: in order to give gamers the best experience, they always “start with gamers” in mind when doing social promotion: What are the player’s behavior and preferences in social media? What do they feel about the posts? What kind of activities do they want to participate in? What peripherals do they like? Which lucky-draw prizes are more attractive?

Marketing Department manager Summer also said that the launch of this game coincided with the annual Singles’ Day (11/11), so it is difficult to buy good ads for cheap. As a result, “attracting a precise customer base” to increase downloads also became an issue for the marketing team.

 

Laborious market research tasks were handed over to AI

Facing an entirely new group of gamers, X-Legend Entertainment knew that it must start with the data from the highly active Facebook fan groups. However, processing the massive amount of Facebook posts and fan comments is time-consuming and difficult to complete in a short period of time before the game’s launch. And iKala Cloud, an enterprise that uses AI to support enterprises engaging in transformation, has a dedicated AI data science team and abundant experience in social media data analysis, which coincides with the “data-oriented” decision-making concept of X-Legend Entertainment.

 

The first step: Quantitative Marketing—Analyze the degree of fan overlap and reshape the appearance of female gamers.

With the help of the iKala Cloud team, X-Legend Entertainment used AI to reshape the appearance of gamers in “If Only: Once Again” within a short stretch of time early in the game’s launch. At first, the team assumed that the “Chinese imperial court” and “girl romance” mobile gamers were two different groups of people. For support from the data, iKala Cloud assisted in analyzing the posts of several Facebook fan groups with AI. The analysis found that these two groups of gamers actually have very little overlap in these fan groups. This validated the marketing team’s ideas and, in the same period, gave the team a better understanding of competing products and gamer profiles.

Analysis of fan overlap between “If Only: Once Again” and the other five fan pages

 

The second step: Qualitative Insights—AI automatically tags “over ten million” posts to find potential business opportunities for cooperation

After establishing a more precise gamer profile, the iKala Cloud team then used Natural Language Processing (NLP) technology to perform keyword extraction on Facebook posts, AI automated tagging, association analysis, automatic categorization and aggregation, and provided gamer-oriented insights. This included which words to add to the article to spur higher interaction, the movement plans for on-site activities, the types of peripheral products that fans prefer, or the potential manufacturers and products for cross-industry cooperation—there were opportunities from all of this to find clues through AI analysis.

In specific, how is AI automated tagging applied? For example, the team wants to target female customers and find suitable food and makeup manufacturers for joint promotion. Using the AI automated tagging (auto-tagging) system developed by iKala Cloud, it can regularly capture nearly 20,000 Facebook fan groups and tens of millions of posts in Taiwan; search for topical posts discussing “food” and “makeup”; and compare the social footprints of “fans who like female-oriented games” to accurately recommend suitable partners for cooperation in different industries.

AI automatically tags over ten million posts

Such a huge amount of data analyses and storage can be done through BigQuery, Google Cloud’s multi-cloud data storage system. BigQuery can quickly analyze petabytes (PB) of data, and it has built-in machine learning capabilities. And when large-scale computing is implemented, it uses the Google Compute Engine, a cost-effective and secure computing technology, which can greatly reduce computing costs.

X-Legend’s next mile moving forward: Create a real-time social media “situation room” and become a close friend of gamers

“In cooperation with iKala Cloud, both parties exchanged many ideas, and also helped us to understand player profiles of this game more deeply, so that we could see that the game could have more possibilities for development and applications.” —X-Legend Entertainment Vice President Zhou Qiu-mei

After this analysis project, X-Legend Entertainment gained a deeper understanding of the appearance of female gamers who developed from playing female-oriented romance games, and also verified many of their initial ideas and marketing strategies. This included the possibility that women may pay more attention to the details, atmosphere, and perception in physical activities. These insights may be used as a reference when planning activities or peripheral products.

In the future, in addition to turning Facebook social analysis into a real-time dashboard and establishing a “social media situation room” for monitoring, it can also apply AI technology to “in-game data” to perform gamer behavior analysis. AI predictions can be used to predict things that the operation team cares about, such as “in-game purchases” or loss behavior, making mobile game operations and marketing analysis both easier and more efficient.

 

Company Introduction

X-Legend Entertainment is a leading listed game developer in Taiwan. It has excellent online game core technologies. It develops, operates, and markets a variety of online games that have ten thousand players. Its MMORPG games reach across the markets of 15 countries, including Taiwan, Japan, Hong Kong, Australia, Europe and the United States, and other markets. It has accumulated 10 million users, and has continued to win multiple awards, in 2016, 2018, 2019, from GAME STAR. Representative works include “Aura Kingdom,” “Grand Fantasia,” “If Only: Once Again,” and others.

Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet, consectetur adipiscing elit. Ut elit tellus, luctus nec ullamcorper mattis, pulvinar dapibus leo.

More Cases

Rayark

Competing for the global game market in Asia: The top development team in Taiwan’s gaming industry—Rayark Games

了解更多
Scroll to Top

成功案例 – 傳奇網路遊戲

質化與量化的甜蜜交叉:
《如果重來》如何藉 AI 走進玩家心裡

傳奇網路遊戲

傳奇網路遊戲

傳奇網路遊戲為台灣具領先地位的上市遊戲開發商,擁有優秀的網路遊戲核心技術,自行研發、營運、行銷多款萬人網路遊戲,其出品之 MMORPG 遊戲跨足台、日、港、澳及歐美等超過 15 國市場,累積高達千萬用戶,並持續於 2016、2018、2019 年 GAME STAR 遊戲之星獲得多項大獎。代表作品包含《幻想神域》、《精靈樂章》、《如果重來》等。

《精靈樂章》 《如果重來》 傳奇網路遊戲官網

從端遊邁向手遊、從台灣走向海外,傳奇網路遊戲挾帶超過 18 年的研發經驗與技術,持續在遊戲市場突破重圍。綜觀遊戲產業現況,根據行動分析監測平台 App Annie 報告,2020 年不論「活躍玩家數」或「玩家消費金額」,平均都有 20% 的年增率,這也使業者更看好遊戲市場大餅,進而成廣告成本節節攀升。這樣的競爭促使傳奇網路遊戲團隊成員在遊戲設計上不斷破框求變。《如果重來》就是此一挑戰下催生的新作。

遊戲橫掃超過 15 國市場

女性市場潛在商機 催生都會戀愛養成手遊《如果重來》

預見女性市場的龐大商機及團隊成員的喜愛,傳奇網路遊戲於 2020 年 11 月自製推出這款主打「女性向」都會戀愛的 RPG 手遊。一改以往冒險、奇幻類 MMORPG 風格,《如果重來》製作團隊在遊戲的玩法、畫風、音樂、劇情編排上都更臻細膩唯美。

如果重來

全新題材、全新挑戰:解析客群 為女性玩家找回怦然心動感

而作為首款自研發的女性向戀愛手遊,團隊規劃行銷策略時也面臨不同以往的挑戰。產品營運部的 Abbie 分享,過去團隊在行銷時都會參考社群粉絲的互動留言,或同質性高的遊戲的推廣經驗,輔以廣告成效進行決策。

對於女性向戀愛手遊宣傳經驗較少的團隊來說,他們得重新思考構築「玩家輪廓」。Abbie 舉例,為了給玩家最好的體驗,做社群推廣時都抱著「以玩家出發」的思維:玩家在社群上的行為偏好是什麼?對那些貼文有感?想參與什麼類型的活動?喜歡那些周邊?那些抽獎獎品有更大的誘因?

行銷部經理 Summer 也表示,這款遊戲上線時間正逢年度大檔雙十一,廣告很難買得好、買得便宜。如此一來,「如何吸引到精準的客群」拉升下載量,也成了行銷團隊的課題之一。

耗費心力的市場調查任務,就交給 AI 來執行

面對一群全新的玩家,傳奇網路遊戲深知必須從由活躍度高的 Facebook 粉絲團數據著手。但海量的 Facebook 貼文和粉絲留言,光靠人力去爬梳整理,將會耗費大量的時間,較難在上線前的短時間內完成。而長期以 AI 技術力協助企業轉型的 iKala Cloud,擁有專責的 AI 資料科學團隊與豐富的社群數據分析經驗,正好與傳奇網路遊戲「數據導向」的決策理念不謀而合。

聯繫 iKala Cloud,瞭解更多 GCP 加值服務!

第一步:量化行銷 ─ 分析粉絲重疊度,重塑女性玩家樣貌

在 iKala Cloud 團隊的助力下,傳奇網路遊戲在遊戲上線初期的短時間內,就借助 AI 重構《如果重來》的玩家樣貌。起初,團隊假定「宮鬥系」與「少女戀愛」手遊玩家為兩群不同的人,為求數據佐證,iKala Cloud 協助以 AI 分析數個 Facebook 粉絲團的貼文。分析後發現,這 2 群玩家在這些粉絲團上確實甚少重疊。這驗證了行銷團隊的想法,讓團隊對同期競品、玩家輪廓有進一步的認知。

粉絲專頁重疊度

《如果重來》與其他五個粉絲專頁之粉絲重疊度分析

第二步:質化洞悉 ─ AI 自動貼標「上千萬篇」貼文,撈出潛在合作商機

鎖定了更精確的玩家輪廓後,iKala Cloud 團隊接著以自然語言處理 (Natural Language Processing, NLP) 技術執行 Facebook 貼文的關鍵字萃取、AI 自動貼標、關聯分析、自動歸類、彙整,提供各面向的玩家洞察;包括將哪些字眼加在文章中能帶來更高互動、實體活動的動線規劃、粉絲偏好的周邊商品類型,或是異業合作的潛在廠商、選品,都有機會從 AI 分析看出端倪。

具體來說,AI 自動貼標怎麼應用?例如團隊想鎖定女性客群,並尋找適合的美食、彩妝廠商聯名宣傳,利用 iKala Cloud 研發之 AI 自動貼標系統,系統能定期抓取國內近 20,000 個臉書粉絲團、數千萬篇貼文,搜尋出討論「美食」與「彩妝」的話題性貼文,並比對「喜歡女性向戀愛遊戲的粉絲」之社群足跡,藉此精準推薦合適的異業合作對象。

AI 自動貼標上千萬篇貼文

如此龐大的資料分析與儲存,則都透過 Google Cloud 的多雲端資料倉儲系統 BigQuery 辦到;BigQuery 能快速分析 PB 等級的資料並內建機器學習功能。而大規模地運算則使用 Google Compute Engine 這項高性價比且安全的運算技術實現,能大幅降低運算成本。

傳奇的下一哩路:打造即時社群戰情室,成為玩家的知心閨蜜

「與 iKala Cloud 的合作中,雙方交流激盪了不少的想法,也協助我們更深度掌握這款遊戲的玩家輪廓,讓我們看見遊戲能有更多發展、應用的可能。」 ── 傳奇網路遊戲副總 周秋美

經過這次的分析專案,傳奇網路遊戲更深刻地理解女性向戀愛養成遊戲的玩家樣貌,也驗證了許多最初的想法與行銷策略;包括女性可能更注重實體活動的細節、氛圍、觀感等,這些洞察將有機會作為規劃活動或周邊商品時的參考。

未來,除了可將 Facebook 社群分析打造成即時儀錶板,建立「社群戰情室」進行監控外,AI 的技術同樣能應用於「遊戲內數據」,執行玩家行為分析;舉凡營運團隊在意的「課金」或流失行為,都能藉由 AI 預測,讓手遊營運與行銷分析變得更輕鬆有效率。

延伸閱讀:

聯絡我們

如果您有任何問題,可以先參考 FAQ 、寄信至 cloud@ikala.tv 或者 直接撥打 +886 2 87681110,謝謝!